European AA Presidency: Wirz over Hansen, by Alfons Juck

Wirz beats Hansen

LONDON (GBR): Hansjörg Wirz of Switzerland has been re-elected as President of European Athletics for a fourth term at the continental body's Congress in London. European Athletics informs.  President Wirz was chosen to lead, direct and represent European Athletics for the period 2011-2015 ahead of challenger Svein Arne Hansen (26:22 votes). "Our Member Federations have shown their appreciation for what I have done in the last four years and have shown confidence that the future of our sport on the continent is going in the right direction," said President Wirz. Jose Luis de Carlos (ESP) remained as Vice-President,  Karel Pilny (CZE) and Jean Gracia (FRA) are new vice-presidents. But Pilny was before treasurer and this position no longer exists. In the new council new members are former top athletes. Romanian olympic 5000 m gold medalist Gabriela Szabo and Estonian decathlon olympic winner Erki Nool. New members also Jonas Egilsson of Iceland, Liam Hennessy of Ireland. Others remained: Franco Arese (ITA),  Sylvia Barlag (NED), Frank Hensel (GER),  Dobromir Karamarinov (BUL), Toralf Nilsson (SWE), Antti Pihlakoski (FIN), Jorge Salcedo (POR), Salih Munir Yaras (TUR) and Vadim Zelichenok (RUS). Pierce O'Callaghan (IRL), Jean-Pierre Schoebel (MON), Libor Varhanik (CZE) and Mikhail Butov (RUS) were voted onto the Competition Committee. Nick Davis (IRL), Anthony Chircop (MLT), Milan Pedalo (BIH) and Erich Teigamagi (EST) were voted on to the Development Committee.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required