The 2012 Fukuoka Marathon RunningNetwork Photo Gallery, photos by, gallery courtesy of, note by Larry Eder

The Fukuoka marathon in 2012 showed, that once again, the level of competition in the marathon is so high that there are no shoe-ins. This photo gallery was created by Chuck Bartlett, the RN Website Director, who does several photo galleries a week (you can find more at 

 The Fukuoka International marathon has been, for many of its years, the de facto year championship of the marathon. Derek Clayton broke 2:10 on the Fukuoka course, then went on to run 2:08:34 for a WR. Frank Shorter won four times in a row, as well as the Olympic marathon in 1972. Seko, DeCastella, the list goes on.

This year, Joseph Gitau won the race with a huge PB in 2:06.51. 

Thumbnail image for Gitau_Joseph1-Fukuoka12.jpg
Joseph Gitau, 2012 Fukuoka International Marathon, photo by

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required