Athletes of the Year revealed tomorrow! from EME News

 Genzebe Dibaba, photo by

Dennis Kimetto, photo by

MONACO (MON): Names of Athletes of the Year 2014 will be revealed during the traditional World Athletics Gala on Friday evening at the Chapiteau de Fontvieille. The World of athletics will see new names taking the honors. Men finalists are Renaud Lavillenie, Dennis Kimetto and Mutaz Essa Barshim and women Valerie Adams, Genzebe Dibaba and Dafne Schippers. Only the Dutch sprinting European champion is expected to miss the Gala evening. Never a male pole vaulter or high jumper won the award, actually only Jonathan Edwards with win in 1995 is a previous winner as classical jumper. On the women side never a thrower won the trophy. 

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required