Olivia Theis and Daniel Kilrea win 39th annual Foot Locker Cross Country Championships Midwest Regional


Kilrea_DanielLeds-FLmw17.jpgDaniel Kilrea, photo by PhotoRun.net

Theis_OlivaFH-FLmw17.jpgOlivia Theis wins MW FootLocker regional, photo by PhotoRun.net

The Midwest Regional, hosted by UW Parkside, has seen some of the finest American distance runners who began their running in the Midwest. For a decade plus, I would visit this regional, always fascinated to see who would show up, and which runner from the Dakotas would surprise!

Olivia Theis of Lansing, Mich., and Daniel Kilrea of La Grange Park, Ill., won the Foot Locker Cross Country Championships (FLCCC) Midwest Regional today. In the girls' race, Theis, now a two-time FLCCC National Finalist, claimed the title in 17:13.4. Katelynne Hart of Glen Ellyn, Ill., placed second in 17:17.1, and Emily Covert, of Minneapolis, Minn., placed third in 17:17.4.

In the boys' race, Daniel Kilrea of La GrangePark, Ill., captured the title in 14:53.3. Zack Kreft of Sunbury, Ohio, placed second in 15:05.4, with Clayton Mendez of Chicago finishing third in 15:07. Dylan Jacobs (5th place) of Orland Park, Ill., is a two-time FLCCC National Finalists.

Boys seeded race: 1. Daniel Kilrea, La Grange Park, IL, Lyons Township High School, senior, 14:53.3, 2. Zachary Kreft, Sunbury, Ohio, Buckeye Valley HIgh School, senior, 15:05.4, 3. Clayton Mendez, Chicago, IL, Whitney M. Young Magnet High School, senior, 15:07.0, 4. Matt Scrape, Pickerington, Ohio, Pickerington High School Central, senior, 15:07.2, 5. Dylan Jacobs, Orland Park, IL, Carl Sandburg High School, senior, 15:07.5, 6. Chad Johnson, Galion Ohio, Colonel Craword High Schoo, senior, 15:08.4, 7. Harrison Scudamore, Denver, CO, Denver East High School, senior, 15:08.6, 8. Matthew Schadler, Chandler, Indiana, Reitz Memorial High School, senior, 15:08.8, 9. Shauib Aljabaly, Coldwater, Michigan, Coldwater High School (senior), 15:09.5, 10. Drew Bosley Thiensville, WI, Homestead High School, junior, 15:10.4.

Girls seeded race: 1. Olivia Theis, Lansing, Michigan, Lansing Catholic HIgh School (senior), 17:13.4, 2. Katelynne Hart, Glen Ellyn, IL, Glenbard West High School, sophomore, 17:17.1, 3. Emily Covert, Minneapolis, MINN, Minneapolis Washburn High School, junior, 17:17.4, 4. Sarah Schmidt, Naperville, IL, Naperville High School, senior, 17:30.6, 5. Ericka Vanderlende, Rockford, MICH, Rockford High School, junior, 17:37.2, 6. Phoebe Bates, Carmel, Indiana, Carmel High School, sophomore, 17:40.8, 7. Cecilia Stalzer, Mason, MIchigan, Mason High School, junior, 17:43.3, 8. Adelyn Ackley, Mears, MICH, Hart High School, junior, 17:43.8, 9. Tierney Wolfgram, Woodbury, MINN, Math and Science Academy, freshman, 17:45.1, 10. Rylee Robinson, West Bloomfield, Waterford Mott High School, junior, 17:45.4.

To read press release: 2017 Midwest Media Alert FINAL.pdf

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required