2019 Doha Diary: Facts & Figures, Men's 200m Final


cec3fe7d-945c-421c-b2ed-ee14e7ea1bff.jpgEnjoy the 200m even more tonight with the facts and geek stuff figures. rrrrrr

Facts & Figures

Men's 200m Final

Tuesday 1 October

WCH all-time top-performers:

19.19WR Usain Bolt (JAM) Berlin 2009 Gold
19.40 Usain Bolt (JAM) Daegu 2011 Gold
19.55 Usain Bolt (JAM) Beijing 2015 Gold
19.66 Usain Bolt (JAM) Moscow 2013 Gold
19.70 Walter Dix (USA Daegu 2011 Silver
19.74 Justin Gatlin (USA) Beijing 2015 Silver

Slowest winning time:

20.30 John Capel (USA) Paris 2003

Biggest margin of victory:

0.62 Usain Bolt ahead of Alonso Edward (PAN) 2009

Smallest margin of victory:

0.0 Calvin Smith (USA) ahead of Gilles Queneherve (FRA) 1987

Multiple winners:

4 Usain Bolt (JAM) 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015

2 Michael Johnson (USA) 1991, 1995
Calvin Smith (USA) 1983, 1987

Most medals by country:

20 USA (8G, 5S, 7B)
7 Jamaica (4, 3, 0)
4 Namibia (1, 3, 0)

Interesting to know:

  • There has only been one 200m medal sweep - in Helsinki 2005 when Justin Gatlin, Wallace Spearmon and John Capel (USA) filled the podium.
  • The men's and women's 200m double has been achieved five times at a World Championships - Usain Bolt and Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM), Moscow 2013; Usain Bolt and Veronica Campbell Brown (JAM), Daegu 2011; Tyson Gay and Allyson Felix (USA), Osaka 2007; Justin Gatlin and Allyson Felix (USA), Helsinki 2005; Maurice Greene and Inger Miller (USA), Seville 1999.

  • The 100m-200m double has been achieved six times - three times by Usain Bolt (JAM) in 200, 2013 & 2015; and once by Tyson Gay (USA) in 2007, Justin Gatlin (USA) in 2005, and Maurice Greene (USA) in 1999.
  • Michael Johnson (USA) in Gothenburg 1995 is the only other athlete to do the 200m-400m double. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA) won gold (400m) and silver (200m) at London 2017.
  • 20.01 seconds by Ramil Guliyev (TUR) in Beijing 2015 was the fastest time in a heat. 20.06 by Adam Gemili (GBR) was the fastest in Doha 2019.
  • 19.84 by Francis Obikwelu (NGR) in Seville 1999 is the fastest semi-final time.
    19.86 by Noah Lyles (USA) was the fastest at Doha 2019.
  • 20.14 by Miguel Francis (ANT) in Beijing 2015 is the fastest non-qualifying time in a semi-final. 20.28 by Jereem Richards (TTO) and Yancarlos Martinez (DOM) was the fastest non-qualifier at Doha 2019.
  • 19.83 by Noah Lyles (USA) in 2018 remains the fastest performance in Doha.
  • Can Noah Lyles win USA's first men's 200m title since Tyson Gay beat Usain Bolt in Osaka 2007?
  • Can Lyles break Bolt's world record of 19.19 10 years after it was set in Berlin?
  • Can Alex Quinonez (ECU) become the first South American medallist since Claudinei da Silva (BRA) took silver in 1999?

Doha2019news mb/xx

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required