Jury of Appeals awards bronze medal to Orlando Ortega..but is he getting it?

| 0 Comments

The men's 110m hurdles last night was exciting. Grant Holloway stayed focused, after he hit hurdle 1 hard and went on to win in 13.10. Sergey Shubenkov took the silver, in 13.15, staying away from the popping and crashing. Pascal Martinot Lagarde took the bronze in 13.18. Omar McLeod hit hurdle 8, 9, and went down after ten, almost taking Orlando Ortega down with him.

A first appeal by Spain on Ortega's behalf was denied. A second one gave him a share of the bronze medal. We have added some pictures so you can see the issue...

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1b-Doha19.JPGPhoto 1/6, by PhotoRun.net

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1c-Doha19.JPGPhoto 2/6, by PhotoRun.net

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1e-Doha19.JPGPhoto 3/6, by PhotoRun.net

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1g-Doha19.JPGPhoto 4/6, by PhotoRun.net

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1h-Doha19.JPGPhoto 5/6, by PhotoRun.net

Holloway-Ortega-McLeod1i-Doha19.JPGPhoto 6/6, by PhotoRun.net

JURY OF APPEAL DECISION 2

Event: 110m Hurdles Final Men

A second Appeal was lodged by Team SPAIN, claiming that their athlete Orlando ORTEGA was obstructed during the race by Jamaican athlete Omar McLEOD, and seriously affected, as he was third at the time of the incident but his progress was clearly impeded, making it impossible for him to maintain the medal position.

Team Spain requested that, under Rule 163.2 a), either the race be re-held, or the athlete be allowed to compete alone.

If the above request is not accepted, Team Spain request that, as a fair sporting gesture, ORTEGA be awarded the medal corresponding to his position at the time of the obstruction..

The Jury of Appeal reconsidered the case and in view of the obstruction by athlete Omar McLEOD, which impeded the Spanish Athlete, the Jury accepted the Appeal and directed that Spanish athlete Orlando ORTEGA also be awarded a bronze medal.

IAAF

RULE 163.2

Obstruction

2. If an athlete is jostled or obstructed during an event so as to impede

his progress, then:

(a) if the jostling or obstruction is considered unintentional or is

caused otherwise than by an athlete, the Referee may, if he is of

the opinion that an athlete (or his team) was seriously affected,

in accordance with Rule 125.7 or Rule 146.4, order that the race

(for one, some or all of the athletes) be re-held or allow the

affected athlete (or team) to compete in a subsequent round of

the event;

(b) if another athlete is found by the Referee to be responsible for

the jostling or obstruction, such athlete (or his team) shall be

liable to disqualification from that event. The Referee may, if he

is of the opinion that an athlete (or his team) was seriously

affected, in accordance with Rule 125.7 or Rule 146.4, order

that the race (for one, some or all of the athletes) be re-held

excluding any disqualified athlete (or team) or allow any

affected athlete (or team) (other than any disqualified athlete or

team) to compete in a subsequent round of the event.

Note: In cases considered serious enough, Rules 125.5 and

145.2 may also be applied.

In both cases Rule 163.2(a) and (b), such athlete (or team)

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required