Recently in Reviews Category

Original post February 7, 2009

Repost January 21, 2019

The New Balance Indoor GP has been around for 24 years now. One of the finest events on the circuit, NB Indoor GP will be held January 26, 2019, at the Reggie Lewis Center, in Roxbury, MA near Boston, MA. This is the ONLY stop of the IAAF Indoor World Circuit in US, and you should not miss it! Tickets for the event on January 26, which forms part of the IAAF World Indoor Tour, are now on sale at www.nbindoorgrandprix.com or by calling 1-877-849-8722.

I have not missed the Reebok Boston Indoor Games, if my memory serves me, since 1997. Each year, the team at Global Athletics & Marketing puts together almost three hours of the finest, most exciting and most competitive performances in our sport! 2009 will not be an exception! A few words on my predictions and also, a few honest words about a major footwear company and sponsoring major events...

The meet management has offered $25k prize for breaking the world mens's indoor record at the pole vault, the American or Wolrd Indoor women's record at the pole vault and the Women's American record at 5,000 meters! Jenn Stuczynski, shown above, is my pick to break the American indoor pole vault, and possibly the world indoor tonight!

Thumbnail image for parker_john.jpg
Photo of author, John L. Parker, Jr.
Original post: October 16, 2010
repost: December 27, 2018
This is one of those books, and writers, you must have on your rborok shelf. John L. Parker, Jr. wrote the cult classic, Once a Runnerr and this is the followup. Find it, read it, pass it along.

John L. Parker, Jr. wrote the first booklet I ever read on running. The Frank Shorter Story was a RW book of the month that came out in 1973-74. I still have that copy. I have memorized it. Parker was able to capture much of Shorter and the runners of that era. His section on Shorter's marathon victory in Munich was how I entertained myself on fifteen miles (one mile loops) runs around a cemetery in college.


When I discovered Once A Runner, I found new friends. Quenton Cassidy, the would be miler, part time miscreant, and his mentor, the man who had been
there, Bruce Denton. The book went out of print in the late 70s, and became a huge hit twenty years later. That was a tribute to one of running's most important writers, John L. Parker, Jr.

Cregg Weinmann has reviewed footwear and apparel for California Track & Running News since the mid 1990s, and for the RunningNetwork since 1998. If you would like to see this review on Running Product Reviews, please go to: Brooks Adrenaline GTS 19, $130. At RunBlogRun, our goal is help you find the perfect shoe for you. Our suggestions: always visit your local running stores at end of day, take a clean pair of running socks, and try on five to six different brands, and jog around in them. Real running stores allow you to check the right show for you. For more reviews, please go to www.runningproductreviews.com.

View this post on Instagram

Morning run. How many of these shoes can you name?

A post shared by runningproductreviews (@runningproductreviews) on

Original post: August 26, 2009
Repost December 20, 2018

This interview was done nine years ago. Rob De Martini was early in his time at NB, and many of us were curious to meet him. In his decade plus at the helm of the largest privately held running shoe brand on the planet Earth, Rob lead NB from $1.4 billion in sales to nearly $5 billion in global sales (estimates are mine, 2018). Rob ends his tenure on December 31, 2018, with Joe Preston, to take over the helm. Jim Davis has been fortunate to have Mr. De Martini at leading the brand, and Joe Preston will do a fine job. Credit should all go to Jim Davis, who has chosen a talented team to lead this iconic brand.

RobDeMartini-President-CEO-New-Balance-thumb-500x725-21336.jpg

Rob De Martini, courtesy of IndustryWeek.com

Here is an archived interview with Rob De Martini, someone we genuinely liked. A class act, a keen observer, De Martini shook up NB, but really, truly, helped them move to the next part of the evolutionary cycle. That is what a great manager does.

We have also linked an interview with Rob De Martini from early in 2017: (http://www.runblogrun.com/2017/02/2017-new-balance-series-rob-de-martini-ceo-and-president.html).

The original interview RBR, August 26, 2009, Rob De Martini


New Balance has been around since 1905. I remember seeing my first pair of NB running shoes at Crystal Springs, a well respected cross country course in Belmont, California, in the Fall of 1975. I purchased my first pair in 1977, as the running boom was about to burst open at the seams. I think that those were the 305s. Real runners were using them: Kevin Ryan, Bobby Hodge, Vin Fleming, Randy Thomas, all were members of the New Balance Track Club, at the time.

New Balance has gone from being an old jogger's brand to a performance brand, and the largest, privately held running footwear brand in North America. Like most brands, it has gone through its challenges over the past few years, and still resides in the top five in the performance footwear food chain. New Balance also shaped generations of women's feeling on the sport and cause related running, with the early adoption of the Susan J. Komen Foundation's Race for the Cure series.

Rob DeMartini is the President and CEO of New Balance. Brought in by Jim Davis, the Chairman of New Balance, who purchased the brand in 1974, DeMartini is a former executive with the Tyson Foods Brand. We asked Rob to give us his thoughts on where New Balance is going right now, its future and its challenges. His answers provide some good food for thought!

NB-LORES.jpg

Rob DeMartini, New Balance President & CEO, photo courtesy of NB communications.

worldmarathon.jpg

The world Marathon book, Christina Neal, London, Carlton, 2018, photo by Stuart Weir

ISBN 878-1-78739-059-1

This is a book review by Stuart Weir, The World Marathon book, by Christina Neal, and published by Carlton, the purveyor of fine coffee table books. Let us know what you think, as we have several more reviews.

Scan.jpg

Marilu Diaries: Stan & Marilu

| 0 Comments

13699942_10205992099870964_2375851239538718629_n.jpgMarilu and Stan Eder, circa 1957 (the baby bump is moi)

Reposted May 13, 2018

This is the second Mother's Day since we lost my Mom, Marilu Eder. Marilu lived, and died with an amazing dignity and sense of love. She instilled in all five of her children a sense of adventure and the belief that they should try and live their dreams. I miss her daily, and think about her daily.

Updated May 14, 2017

This is the first Mother's Day since my Mom, Marilu has died. She passed away at home on September 20, 2016. My father had been caring for her for 18 months. She went into hospice two weeks before her death. She last spoke the week before her death. I remember the day like it was yesterday. At the time, we wanted her pain to end. I think of her each day and the lessons that she taught my brothers and sisters and our children are immense. My father is doing pretty well now too. I thought you might like to read these two stories about my mother, a women of strength, intelligence and beauty.

This story was written on September 16, 2016, four days before her death.

The picture above is from New Years Eve, 1957. My parents had been married in November 1957. Nine months, ten days later, I was born, so the tiny baby bump tells the observer that I was already stating my presence.

My parents met 62 years ago and have been married nearly 58 years. My mother is in hospice now, and I wanted to share a few memories of this magnifcent women, whom I call Mom.

PUMA .jpgPuma has merged technologies for their fastest sprinters with the evoSPEED NETFIT Sprint. The upper is unique, as it features a knit booty surrounded by a mesh net.

Posted April 1, 2018

I am in Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, working through a couple weeks of medical exams. It is Easter and I am going to spend the afternoon with some dear friends. This is one of the few Easter Sundays that I am not with my family. I found this story I wrote on my mother, Marilu Eder, who died on September 20, 2016. She was a hell of a woman, thoughtful, funny, loving. Marilu and my father, Stan, were married nearly 55 years. Dad is still kicking, and thankfully, healthy and stirring it up as he always does. I thought Mom and my family would like this story on this important holy day.

Originally written in July 2017, never published, around the Weltklasse Meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland.

It is late in the evening in Lausanne, Switzerland. I have had a long day, but, an enjoyable one. I took the train from Gare de Lyon, a train station in Paris, to Lausanne, Switzerland today, a quick four hours of beautiful countryside. The TGV train was very nice, but my large bag, which could have held that North Korean ballistic missle that was launched yesterday, was probably too big to travel with over the time I am here.

IMG_8953.JPGMarilu's favorite city, Paris, photo by Larry Eder

During the evening, I took a walk along the lake and it was quite enjoyable. Kids playing, couples coupling, teenagers smoking. The weed smells the same here as in California is an initial observation. People smile back at you when you say "Bonsoir" and smile. I have this habit of smiling and saying 'Hello' wherever I am in the world. In some places they smile back, in others places, they think I am a complete loon. As Mr. Vonnegut would say, So it goes.

I thought, for a few moments, how my Mom, Marilu Eder, would have loved Lausanne.

RunBlogRun introduces: The Breaking 2 coverage last May was a paradigm changer. For me, staying up in Doha to watch it was fantastic. Also observing the twitter world during the live coverage, and then my twitter comments had bigger numbers that I would have expected (Nike had huge numbers, RunBlogRun, during the live broadcast, had 275,000 viewers).

The new IAAF World Tour put several of the meets on Facebook Live. They were fantastic. The interaction with young viewers, the global connections and the amazing clarity and coverage of the meets was exceptional.

I asked Mike Deering, partner with Adam Johnson Eder and AJ Felice at the Shoe Addicts, to comment on his viewing of Karlsruhe.

Here is what he had to say.

7e61909b-fb89-4991-b2a5-fe1cca746b53.jpgCindy Roleder, Karlsuhe presser, photo courtesy of Getty Images/IAAF

9e498411-86e9-491a-9da7-599409fc88ec.pngKeni Harrison, Karlsruhe Meeting, photo by PhotoRun.net

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required