Year's Fastest Time run at Sea of Galiliee Marathon, by Alfons Juck, Note by Larry Eder


Despite fighting in the Gaza strip, which is south of the Sea of Galilee,
twenty four countries were represented in the field. The men's race
was won in 2:08:07!


The fastest marathon of the year 2:08:07

TIBERIAS (ISR, Jan 8): The 32nd Tiberias marathon registered the fastest marathon of the year and first sub 2:10 in the history of the event which started in 1977. Kenyan Jackson Kipkoech who was here third year ago in 2:10:57 won this time in 2:08:07. That is also the best marathon time in the country. The winner will get a special bonus 50 000 USD. Second Leonard Mucheru winner from 2008 and 2007 improved his PB to 2:09:37. Mucheru clocked last year course record 2:10:32. His win in 2007 made for the headlines as he at that time was representing Bahrain. Now he is back as Kenyan. Third Philemon Boit also a PB 2:10:54 and fourth Samson Bungei just missed it by 5 seconds in 2:10:57 (he has 2:10:52 from winning Sevilla last year). Kenya had also the women winner as Irene Kosgei had 2:39:07 ahead of Ethiopian Asrat Addis who improved to 2:42:44. Despite ongoing fighting in the south runners from 22 countries competed at a course around Sea of Galilee, informs

Special thanks to Alfons Juck and EME News.

For more on our sport, please check

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required