Usain & Pearson are IAAF Athletes of Year for 2011, by Alfons Juck, note by Larry Eder

Sally Pearson, Usain Bolt, 2011 IAAF Athletes of the Year,
photo by

Sally Pearson, the 2011 World Champion at the 100 meter hurdles, dominated her event in 2011. Usain Bolt, crashed in the 100 meters, then dominated the 200 meters, and anchored the world record setting Jamaican 4 x 100m relay team! Great picks for the IAAF Athletes of the year!

Bolt_UsianA1a-IAAFgala11.jpgUsain Bolt, IAAF Gala, photo by

MONTE CARLO (MON): Jamaican sprinting star for third time and Australian hurdler for first are Athletes of the year 2011 by IAAF. Usain Bolt and Sally Pearson were awarded at the traditional IAF World Athletics Gala in Monaco. Bolt except of the false start in Daegu finals won all his races and world lead at 1oo m and second fastest at 2oo m. Pearson won all races except the last at SDL finals in Brussels when she stumbled and did not finish the race. Other finalists were Yohan Blake and David Rudisha on men and Valerie Adams with Vivian Cheruiyot on the women side.

Sally Pearson, 2011 IAAF Gala, photo by

Pearson-Diack-BoltA-IAAFgala11.jpgSally Pearson, Lamine Diack, Usain Bolt, 2011 IAAF Gala, photo by

For more on the 2011 seasons of Sally Pearson and Usain Bolt, RBR suggests that the curious reader check the following:

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required