Breakthrough year for Clayton Murphy


Murphy_ClaytonFH1b-USOlyTr16.jpgClayton Murphy, photo by

Breakthrough for Murphy
ORLANDO (USA): At the 2016 Jesse Owens Awards Ceremony hosted by NBC Sports' Todd Harris USATF Athletes of the Year Michelle Carter and Matthew Centrowitz, Nike Coach of the Year Tonja Buford-Bailey, USATF Masters Athlete of the Year Irene Obera and USATF Youth Athlete of the Year Sydney McLaughlin all accepted their awards with speeches Saturday, and the guests looked back at a year that saw Team USA win 32 medals in Rio and 23 medals in Portland, as well as numerous national and international accolades. The Wing Awards were given to fan favorites. As Best Rio Olympic Field Performance Ryan Crouser, as Best Rio Olympic Track Performance Matthew Centrowitz, as Best World Indoor Championships Performance Trayvon Bromell, as Breakthrough Athlete of the Year the 800 m runner Clayton Murphy and as History Making Performance Allyson Felix who became the only female track and field athlete to ever win six Olympic gold medals. Informs USATF.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required