Jarrion Lawson and Courtney Okolo win 2016 Bowerman Awards from USTFCCCA


Lawson_Jarrion200Q-USOlyTr16.jpgJarrion Lawson, 200 meters, photo by PhotoRun.net

Okolo_Courtney4x4m1-Rio16.jpgCourtney Okolo, 4x400m relay, photo by PhotoRun.net

ORLANDO (USA): Sprinter/jumper Jarrion Lawson won the Bowerman Award 2016 on the men side. The former Arkansas standout won four NCAA titles in 2016, including a historic three at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships. He is the first Razorback to win collegiate track & field's highest individual honor, which was handed out Friday night at the Orlando Grande Lakes Resort. Lawson faced tough competition for The Bowerman Award as Texas A&M's Donavan Brazier and Oregon's Edward Cheserek were also finalists. Among women the award went to 400 m runner Courtney Okolo after an undefeated season that resulted in four NCAA titles and a collegiate record. Other women's finalists for The Bowerman Award were Georgia's Keturah Orji (triple jump) and Mississippi's Raven Saunders (shot put). Based on reports on ustfccca.org.

RunBlogRun opines: The Bowerman Award is the Heisman Trophy of track & field. The development of USTFCCCA and Sam Seames, CEO of USTFCCCA, the Bowerman Award provides the fine athletes in cross country and track & field at the collegiate level with a gala night of recognition of the finest athletes in our sport.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required