Awards given at the Owens Banquet

Coburn_EmmaFV1a-WorCH17.jpgEmma Coburn, photo by
Lyles_NoahFHH-USind17.jpgNoah Lyles, photo by
Kendricks_Sam-Lausanne17.jpgSam Kendricks, photo by
Awards given at the Owens Banquet
COLUMBUS (USA): Top athletes, performances and more were recognized at the 2017 Jesse Owens Awards Banquet as part of USATF Annual Meeting Saturday night in Columbus, Ohio. Emma Coburn was honored as Jackie Joyner-Kersee Awardee for her outstanding achievement at this year's IAAF World Championships. Also honored was Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year Sam Kendricks, who video chatted with the audience from where he's currently fulfilling his duty to the U.S. Army Reserves. USATF also recognized Youth Athlete of the Year Jakobe Ford, Masters Athlete of the Year Sabra Harvey, Nike Coach of the Year Jerry Schumacher, Robert Giegengack Award recipient Mamie Rallins and the first ever USATF Alumni Hometown Hero Awards to Jim Lorimer and Harry McKnight. Justin Gatlin won the 2017 Best World Championships Track Performance for his 100 m gold. Brittney Reese the 2017 Best World Championships Field Performance and Shalane Flanagan the 2017 Best Road Racing Performance for her NYC Marathon win. Noah Lyles for his 300 m World all-time indoor best 31.87 got the 2017 Best Non-World Championships Track & Field Performance.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required