British Athletics Paralympic World Class Program


19984142_1675359352474625_4048765069825179122_o.jpgStef Reid in Sand, photo by IPC


Sophie Hahn, photo by IPC


Rio relay medallists, photo by IPC

49063958316_98aba2057b_o.jpgHannah Cockroft and Kare Adenegan (Photo of 3 on podium), photo by IPC

Both the Olympic and Paralympic British Athletic WCP teams were named on Thursday. In this article, Stuart Weir writes about the ramifications of the program in 2020.

Paralympic World Class Program

British Athletics has confirmed that 48 athletes have been offered a place on the Paralympic World Class Program (WCP). There are two levels of membership of the WCP at Paralympic level with numbers for 2020-21 broken down as follows: Paralympic Podium (28) and Paralympic Podium Potential (18) (Guide Runners (2) are listed separately).

While no athletes have been added to the Olympic program this year, two para athletes have been offered a place for the first time, Karim Chan who won gold at the World Para Athletics Junior Championships in 2019, leaping a personal best of 6.70 metres on his way to the title and Harrison Walsh a F44 discus thrower

List of athletes on the program

Paralympic Podium (28):

Kare Adenegan (Job King; Coventry)

Hollie Arnold (David Turner; Blackheath & Bromley)

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore; City of Portsmouth)

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Graham Ravenscroft; Newham & Essex Beagles)

Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat / Shona Malcolm; Forth Valley Flyers)

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks; Harlow)

Libby Clegg (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood)

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks; Leeds City)

Kadeena Cox (Joe McDonnell; Sale Harriers Manchester)

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer Jones; Cardiff)

David Devine (Tony Clarke, Liverpool)

Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes / Josh Clark; DSW Para Academy)

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson; Deeside)

Dan Greaves (Self; Charnwood)

Sophie Hahn (Leon Baptiste; Charnwood)

Harri Jenkins (Nathan Stephens; DSW Para Academy)

Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk; Bristol & West)

Sammi Kinghorn (Self; Red Star)

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie; Team East Lothian)

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller; Gateshead)

Jonnie Peacock (Michael Khmel / Dan Pfaff; Charnwood)

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood; British Wheelchair Athletics Association)

Derek Rae (Ron Morrison; Fife)

Stef Reid (Aston Moore; Charnwood)

Andrew Small (Rick Hoskins; Stockport)

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O'Riordan; Enfield & Haringey)

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine; Southwell)

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood)

Paralympic Podium Potential (18):

Ola Abidogun (Steve Thomas; Horwich)

Martina Barber (Paddy O'Shea; Stevenage & North Herts)

Karim Chan (John Shepherd; Charnwood)

Lydia Church (Jim Edwards; Peterborough & Nene Valley)

Dillon Labrooy (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy)

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins; Kirkby)

Polly Maton (Daniel Hooker; Team Devizes)

Owen Miller (Steven Doig; Fife)

Anna Nicholson (Richard Kaufman; Gateshead)

Zac Shaw (Leon Baptiste; Cleethorpes)

Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller; Bournemouth)

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore; Loughborough Students)

Ali Smith (Chris Zah; Guildford & Godalming)

JohnBoy Smith (Christine Parsloe)

Hannah Taunton (Charlotte Fisher; Taunton)

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman; Kirkby)

Harrison Walsh (Nathan Stephens; Swansea)

David Weir (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy)

Guide runners (2):

Chris Clarke (Joe McDonnell; Marshall Milton Keynes)

Thomas Somers (Lloyd Cowan; Newham & Essex Beagles

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required