Commonwealth Games 2010, Day 1; Stats, by K. Ken Nakamura

Here is the behind the scenes track stats from K. Ken Nakamura on day 1 of the Commonwealth Games, held in New Delhi, India.
Day 1
Men's 5000m 
Kipsiro won the first medal for Uganda at 5000m in CWG 
Kipsiro's time of 13:31.25 is the fastest 5000m in India, replacing 13:37.07 by Bamber Kosgei in Pune on 13 Sept 1994
His winning margin of 0.07 is NOT the closest ever in CWG. Sammy Kipketer won by 0.06 seconds in Manchester
The difference between third and fourth place, 4.44seconds, is the largest at 5000m in CWG. 
However, note that in 1954, when the event was 3 miles, Frank Santo, the bronze medalist was 6.4 seconds ahead of the 4th place.  

WHT qualifying 
Linda Benin (GHA) threw 59.33m in the qualifying round yet did not qualify for the final.
It is the longest throw that failed to qualify for the final of Women's HT at CWG, replacing 55.98m by Hardeep Kaur in Manchester. 

MSP qualifying 
20.01m by Dylan Armstrong is the longest throw in the qualifying round of CWG, replacing 19.64m by Scott Martin in Melbourne.

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required