Ten Diamond Ring Winners are also Olympics winners in their events


Winners-Brussells16.jpgDiamond League winners, September 9, 2016, photo by PhotoRun.net

10 DR winners are also Olympic winners in their events
BRUSSELS (BEL): In the summary of Diamond Race winners 10 athletes (3 men and 7 women) are also Olympic winners in their events. Conseslus Kipruto, Kerron Clement and Christian Taylor on the men side with Elaine Thompson (100 m), Caster Semenya, Ruth Jebet, Ruth Beitia, Ekaterini Stefanidi, Catarine Ibarguen and Sandra Perkovic on the women one. Also Almaz Ayana is DR winner in the 5000 m but Olympic gold medalist in the 10 000 m and Asafa Powell who won the 100 m DR is 4x100 m Olympic winner, the same goes for LaShawn Merritt who has the Olympic gold from 4x400 m and is DR winner in the 400 m. Also it should be noted that new generation came as Diamond Race winners, from the 32 names only 6 from Zurich and 6 from Brussels have previously won the Trophy. That means 12 from 32, 8 men and 4 women only. In the men section Powell (2nd win), Merritt (3), Lavillenie (7), Taylor (5), Edward (3), Kiprop (3), Kipruto (2), Malachowski (4). Among women Beitia (2), Perkovic (5), Ibarguen (4) and Adams (5).

Sorry for the mistake counting Orlando Ortega as Olympic winner, it is of course Omar McLeod and missing Christian Taylor.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required