World Marathon Majors on 2013 IAAF World Championships Marathon, note by Larry Eder

The World Marathon Majors is an important and influential group within the world of marathoning. They have championed stringent drug testing and repurcussions for athletes who test positive, they provide the largest prize purse for such a series in the sport, and they have supported the IAAF World Marathon Championships.  

The women's marathon will be held at 2 pm on Saturday, August 10 and the men's marathon will be held at 3.30 pm on Saturday, August 17. The conditions are likely to be hot and humid.

Championship marathons are like no other event in our sport. It is a bit like cat and mouse, with slow pace early on and a gripping last 5-10k. 

I have a feeling that both races could provide us with some real surprises. 



Press release: Monday 5 August 2013

2013 IAAF World Championships Marathon - World Marathon Majors Preview
Red Square and Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow will set the stage as Olympic and World Championships gold medalists and World MarathonMajors (WMM) champions compete in the 2013 IAAF World Championships Marathon. The course will start and finish at Luzhniki Stadium, the site of the 1980 Olympic Games. Comprised of one loop of 7.5 kilometers and three loops of 10 kilometers, the course runs through the city center, passing many of Moscow's famous landmarks.

World Marathon Majors points are at stake in the Women's and Men's World Championships Marathons, to be held on August 10 and August 17, respectively. The World Championships Marathon is part of the 2012-2013 WMM Series, which also includes the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, BMW Berlin, Bank of America Chicago, ING New York City, and London Olympic Games marathons.

At the conclusion of the 2012-2013 WMM Series in November, the top female and male marathoners in the Series, based on their total number of points, will each earn $500,000.

Women's Race PreviewSaturday, August 10 at 2:00 p.m. (14:00) Moscow Time
A change at the top of the women's WMM Series standings is possible, as four of the top 10 in the current standings will compete in the World Championships. Defending World Championships gold medalist Edna Kiplagat will lead the Kenyans against an Ethiopian contingent that includes London Olympic Games Marathon gold medalist Tiki Gelana; 2012 BMW BERLIN-MARATHON champion Aberu Kebede; and 2013 Boston Marathon runner-up Meseret Hailu.

A repeat victory in Moscow would give Kiplagat a total of 55 points and the overall lead in the standings entering the fall marathon season, which includes the BMW BERLIN-MARATHON on September 29, the Bank of America Chicago Marathon on October 13, and the Series finale at the ING New York City Marathon on November 3.

Men's Race PreviewSaturday, August 17 at 3:30 p.m. (15:30) Moscow Time
Four of the top 10 men in the current WMM Series standings will compete in the World Championships, including an Ethiopian trio of Tsegaye Kebede, the current WMM Series leader and 2013 Virgin London Marathon champion; Lelisa Desisa, the 2013 Boston Marathon champion; and 2011 World Championships bronze medalist and 2012 Bank of America Chicago Marathon runner-up, Feyisa Lilesa. London Olympic Games Marathon gold medalist Stephen Kiprotich, of Uganda, will also compete.  

Kebede's 60 points in the 2012-2013 WMM Series standings currently give him a commanding 24-point lead over Kenya's Wilson Kipsang. With a top five performance in Moscow, Kebede can extend his lead prior to the fall marathon season. Tied with 25 points apiece, Desisa or Kiprotich can only move into second place with a win in Moscow.

Race reports and updated WMM Series standings will follow the respective IAAF World Championships Marathons on August 10th and August 17th. For the latest WMM news and updates, please visit For more information on the 2013 IAAF World Championships, please visit
2012-2013 WMM Series Leaderboards  
Top 10 Men  
Tsegaye KebedeETH60 pts.
Wilson KipsangKEN36 pts.
Wesley KorirKEN27 pts.
Lelisa DesisaETH25 pts.
Stephen KiprotichUGA25 pts.
Geoffrey MutaiKEN25 pts.
Feyisa LilesaETH20 pts.
Dennis KimettoKEN15 pts.
Abel KiruiKEN15 pts.
Micah KogoKEN15 pts.
Top 10 Women  
Priscah JeptooKEN50 pts.
Rita JeptooKEN40 pts.
Sharon CheropKEN35 pts.
Atsede BaysaETH30 pts.
Mary KeitanyKEN30 pts.
Edna KiplagatKEN30 pts.
Tiki GelanaETH25 pts.
Aberu KebedeETH25 pts.
Tirfi TsegayeETH16 pts.
Meseret HailuETH15 pts.

About World Marathon Majors
Established in 2006, World Marathon Majors (WMM) is a race series comprised of the Tokyo, Boston, Virgin Money London, BMW Berlin, Bank of America Chicago, and ING New York City Marathons. In the years in which they are run, WMM also includes the IAAF World Championships and Olympic marathons. At the conclusion of a two-year cycle, WMM offers a $1 million prize purse to be split equally between the top male and female marathoners in the world. The inaugural 2006-2007 Series was launched at the 110th Boston Marathon on April 17, 2006, and concluded at the ING New York City Marathon on November 4, 2007. The 2012-2013 Series began with the Boston Marathon on April 16, 2012, and will conclude at the ING New York City Marathon on November 3, 2013.

Media Contacts:
•    Tokyo: Ulala Nagashima +81 3 5500-6639
•    Boston: Marc Davis + 1 617.778.1633
•    London: Nicola Okey + 44 207.902.0182
•    Berlin: Marisa Reich + 49 178.457.7065
•    Chicago: Jeremy Borling +1 312.992.6614
•    New York: Lauren Loeb +1 212.423.2271

For additional information on the World Marathon Majors, please visit

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required