Cheserek takes Third Title in a Row, The view from Europe, by Alfons Juck, EME News


XC2_2998.jpgThird time is the charm for Mr. Cheserek! photo by Kyle Twerlinger/USTFCCCA

The NCAA Divison 1 Cross Country is part of a magical day of cross country across the country. Ed Cheserek won his third NCAA cross country title today. Syracuse won the Men's title and New Mexico took the women's title.


LOUISVILLE (USA, Nov 21): Kenyan Edward Cheserek fulfilled his favorite role at NCAA First Division CC Championships in Tom Sawyer Park here with 28:46 at 10 km. It his third consecutive title, something no other man has achieved. Also Steve Prefontaine, Henry Rono and Gerry Lindgren are three time champions. All of those three won their first two titles consecutively, but couldn't add a third the following year. Second Australian Patrick Tiernan 29:11 and third US runner Pierce Murphy 29:37. Men of Syracuse won the team title with 82 points ahead of Colorado 91 and Stanford 151. This years NCAA track 10 000 m champion Molly Seidel won another top gold medal with women 6 km in 19:29. Second Allie Ostrander 19:34 and third South African Dominique Scott 19:41. New Mexico was clear team winner with 49 points over Colorado 129 and Oregon 214.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required