Names for IAAF Athlete of Year 2016


StadiumWide-Rio16.JPGRio 2016, photo by

Names for IAAF AOY 2016
MONACO (MON): The IAAF has announced the nominees for the 2016 Male and Female World Athletes of the Year awards. The nominees for the men's award include Usain Bolt, Thiago Braz, Ashton Eaton, Mo Farah, Eliud Kipchoge, Conseslus Kipruto, Omar McLeod, David Rudisha, Christian Taylor and Wayde van Niekerk. The nominees for the women's award include Almaz Ayana, Ruth Beitia, Vivian Cheruiyot, Kendra Harrison, Caterine Ibarguen, Ruth Jebet, Sandra Perkovic, Caster Semenya, Elaine Thompson and Anita Wlodarczyk. A three-way voting process will determine the finalists and the winners will be announced at the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on 2 December.
The IAAF Council's vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family's votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result. Voting closes on 1 November. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF. Interestingly one one name Kendra Harrison is not an Olympic winner, but she broke the legendary 100 m Hurdles World record of Yordanka Donkova from 1988.

Leave a comment

Wake up to RunBlogRun's news in your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter and we'll keep you informed about the Sport you love.

Subscribe to RunBlogRun's Global News Feed

* indicates required